Greetings from Krakow!

My time in Granada has finally come to an end. Spain was absolutely amazing but I really appreciate the change. No more 100 degree weather and no more NOISE summer school 🙂

We made it to Krakow late last night and so far the day has been great! I’m living in an apartment near the city center with four other students. The space is huge and we finally have our own kitchen – I can’t wait to make my own food!

This morning we woke up and went on a walk around the city.  Our first stop was a lovely vegetarian restaurant where I had delicious lentil soup and bread for the equivalent of one dollar and fifty cents. Then, we went to the grocery store and local fresh market where I stocked up on tons of food.  There were produce markets in Spain but we had no way to store or cook the food.  I am so glad that we are able to make our own meals here.  I’ve already made a summer corn salad and can’t wait to eat it tonight after our guided walking tour of the city.

My only complaint so far is the ridiculous amount of birds in the city!  I am very afraid of birds and it is impossible to avoid them here.  Hopefully this will help me conquer my fear…

Initially, I was not excited for our visit to Krakow, but now that I am here, I must say I am really looking forward to the next two weeks! We have meetings set up with different feminist activists and organizations; I can’t wait to hear about all the work they are doing!  I am also going to be doing a lot of research here which I think will be very interesting. Poland has very restrictive abortion laws because of the strong influence of the Catholic Church and right-wing. This is not the best environment for pro-choice activists but it is one where their presence is most needed. I am also really excited to explore the city. It is absolutely beautiful here and I will definitely post pictures up soon.

Now it is time for a quick nap before our tour and dinner… goodnight!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Gina
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 10:23:25

    Ha! I love your commentary on the birds. If you love veggie foods- check out Chimera (i think that the correct spelling), it’s within a couple minutes walk of the main square (NW i think). I hope you’ve explored Kazimierz and don’t take too much offense to the reservations that the Polish women have. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

