Prague

The past two weeks have been incredibly busy and I have barely had any time to catch up on my blog. I made it to Prague a week ago and have been having an incredible time here! Prague is by far the most beautiful city I have been to with this program! The city is breathtaking, the food is absolutely delicious, and there is so much to do. Not to mention, there is finally a Starbucks 🙂

Kristen and I were housed together and are living with Martin, a fifty-four year-old “intellectual” that teaches English at Charles University. Here are a few things you should probably know about him:

• He has converted his apartment into a library, home to more than three thousand books that he inherited from his father. Kristen and I are living in the dining room/library #2/garden.

• He is a collector of clocks, quarters from the United States, and from what I can tell, empty alcohol bottles.

• Earlier this week, I came home to find that he helped himself to my vodka to help him heal his stomach ache. He has also eaten my tomatoes and bell peppers.

• I have yet to see him shower but he really loves doing laundry.

• He plans on quitting his job so he can spend three months “wandering around India.”

Basically, Martin is one of the sweetest, and most unusual, men I have ever met. He is incredibly accommodating and has made us feel very much at home. Too bad he drank my vodka…

Aside from hanging out with Martin, we have spent about five hours everyday in class. We have at least one lecture each day which addresses a feminist issue in the Czech Republic. Aside from that, we meet three times a week to discuss our feminist theory readings. This week, we got to read three articles by my favorite theorist, Judith Butler. We have had some great lectures and discussions; I hope to have time to write about them soon!

I plan on spending my night exploring the city’s nightlife. Tomorrow, we are going to take a tour of the city on the river; then we will spend the afternoon at the Prague Wine Festival. I still want to walk across the Charles Bridge, visit the castle, and see what else the city has to offer. We have so much left to do before we leave for Berlin on Wednesday and not enough time to get it all done!  If only we could stay here longer…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Julix
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 19:08:46

    MICHELLE!!!!!!! WE MISS YOU AND LOVE YOUR VODKA STORIES!!!!!!!!!

    <3<3

    Reply

Leave a Reply

